Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Minimum Wage: Council Of State Approves N27,000, N30,000 For State and Federal Workers

National Council of State Fixes Minimum Wage

Minimum Wage: Council Of State Approves N27,000, N30,000 For State and Federal WorkersThe National Council of State has reportedly fixed the national minimum wage at N27,000 for states and private sector with N30,000 as the minimum wage for federal workers.

This was revealed at the council’s meeting held at the Presidential Villa, Abuja and was presided by President on Tuesday.

The labour minister, , briefed State House correspondents at the end of the meeting.

According to Ngige, the council also approved frequency of review of five years for the minimum wage, adding that establishments that are not employing up to 25 persons are exempted.

He said the national minimum wage bill will be transmitted to the National Assembly before the close of work on Wednesday as agreed with organised labour.

The labour minister said the council took into consideration the tripartite committee recommendations of N30,000, federal government’s proposal of N24,000 and the governors proposal of N22,700 before arriving at the decision.

Mr Ngige assured that despite the announcement by the National Assembly to proceed on recess until after the elections, the concerned committees in the National Assembly will continue work on the bill.

The meeting was attended by Vice President Yemi Osinbajo; Senate President ; former head of Nigeria’s Interim National Government, Ernest Shonekan; former Presidents and and former military head of state, .

Others are former Chief Justice of the Federation, , State governors in attendance include those of Osun, Kebbi, Zamfara, Plateau, Ebonyi, Adamawa, Edo, Lagos, Niger, Borno, Ogun, Ekiti, Kogi as well as the deputy governors of Bauchi, Kaduna, and Rivers.

Others present were the National Security Adviser, ; Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), ; Head of Service of the Federation, ; Minister of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), ; and Mr Ngige.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.